SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s). 310/1996

PRAKASH SINGH & ORS.

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA

Respondent(s)

(Mr. Raju Ramachandran, Sr. Advocate(A.C), Ms. Archana Pathak Dave, Advocate (A.C)[

(IA No. 144787/2022 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS IA No.144785/2022 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION)

WITH

CONTEMPT PETITION (CIVIL) NO. 13/2023 (FOR ADMISSION)

Date: 09-01-2023 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM: HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PAMIDIGHANTAM SRI NARASIMHA

For Petitioner(s) Mr. Prashant Bhushan, AOR

Mr. Rahul Gupta, Adv.

Ms. Archana Pathak Dave, Amicus Curiae

Ms. Kaveeta Wadia, Adv.

Ms. Astha Sharma, AOR

Dr. Shiva Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Ravinder Singh, Adv.

Ms. Mantika Haryani, Adv.

Ms. Sruthi Venugopal, Adv.

Mr. Dev Vrat Singh, Adv.

Ms. Muskan Surana, Adv.

For Respondent(s) Mr. R. Venkataramni, AG

Mr. R. Bala, Sr. Adv.

Ms. V. Mohna, Sr. Adv.

Mr. S. Wasim A. Qadri, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Ankur Talwar, Adv.

Ms. Chinmayee Chandra, Adv.

Mr. Padmesh Mishra, Adv.

Ms. Snidha Mehra, Adv.

Mr. Arvind Kumar Sharma, Adv.

Mr. G.S. Makker, Adv.

Mr. Kamlendra Mishra, AOR

Mr. Rajeev Kumar Dubey, Adv.

Mr. Ranjan Mukherjee, AOR

M/S. S. Narain & Co., AOR

Mr. Lakshmi Raman Singh, AOR

Mr. P. Parmeswaran, AOR

Mr. Anuvrat Sharma, AOR

Mr. Gunnam Venkateswara Rao, AOR

Mr. Kuldip Singh, AOR

Mrs. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. Mohanprasad Meharia, AOR

Mr. P. V. Dinesh, AOR

Mr. Radha Shyam Jena, AOR

Ms. Kaveeta Wadia, AOR

Mr. B. Balaji, AOR

Mr. Ashok Mathur, AOR

Mr. Dharmendra Kumar Sinha, AOR

M/S. Venkat Palwai Law Associates, AOR

Mr. P Venkat Reddy, Adv.

Mr. Prashant Kumar Tyagi, Adv.

Mr. P Srinivas Reddy, Adv.

Ms. Sumita Hazarika, AOR

Mr. Anil Shrivastav, AOR

Mr. Anil Shrivastav, A.A.G.

Mr. Rajesh Srivastava, AOR

Mr. R. Ayyam Perumal, AOR

Mr. Gopal Prasad, AOR

Mr. Gopal Singh, AOR

Ms. Hemantika Wahi, AOR

Mr. T. Harish Kumar, AOR

Mr. T. V. George, AOR

Mr. C. K. Sasi, AOR

Mr. Abdulla Naseeh V T, Adv.

Ms. Meena K Poulose, Adv.

Mr. P. V. Yogeswaran, AOR

- Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR
- Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR
- Mr. Sai Shashank, Adv.
- Mr. Deepayan Dutta, Adv.
- Mr. Arnav Singh Deo, Adv.
- Ms. Abha R. Sharma, AOR
- Mr. Merusagar Samantaray, AOR
- Mr. Prashant Bhagawat, Adv.
- Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR
- Mr. Abhinav Mukerji, AOR
- Mrs. Bihu Sharma, Adv.
- Ms. Pratishtha Vij, Adv.
- Ms. Taruna Ardhendumauli Prasad, AOR
- Mr. Shailesh Madiyal, AOR
- Mr. Shailesh Madiyal, Adv.
- Mr. Vaibhav Sabharwal, Adv.
- Mr. Akshay Kumar, Adv.
- Mr. M. Shoeb Alam, AOR
- Mr. Nishe Rajen Shonker, AOR
- Mrs. Anu K Joy, Adv.
- Mr. Shrirang B. Varma, Adv.
- Mr. Siddharth Dharmadhikari, Adv.
- Mr. Aaditya Aniruddha Pande, AOR
- Mr. Bharat Bagla, Adv.
- Ms. Kirti Dadheech, Adv.
- Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR
- Mr. Karun Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Immanuel Meitei, Adv.
- Ms. Uttara Babbar, AOR
- Ms. Riya Kalra, Adv.
- Ms. Shipra Jain, Adv.
- Mr. D. K. Devesh, AOR
- Mr. M. Yogesh Kanna, AOR

- Mr. Abhishek, AOR
- Ms. Ruchira Goel, AOR
- M/S. Plr Chambers And Co., AOR
- Ms. Kamakshi S. Mehlwal, AOR
- Mr. Sanveer Mehlwal, Adv.
- Ms. Pinky Behera, Adv.
- Mr. Ajay Pal, AOR
- Mrs. Lalita Kaushik, AOR
- Ms. Kaveeta Wadia, Adv.
- Ms. Astha Sharma, AOR
- Dr. Shiva Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Ravinder Singh, Adv.
- Ms. Mantika Haryani, Adv.
- Ms. Sruthi Venugopal, Adv.
- Mr. Dev Vrat Singh, Adv.
- Ms. Muskan Surana, Adv.
- Mr. R. Venkatraman, Attorney General for India
- Mr. Sanjay Jain, Solicitor General
- Mr. R. Bala, Sr. Adv.
- Mr. Gurmeet Singh Makker, AOR
- Mrs. V. Mohna, Adv.
- Mr. Wasim Qudri, Adv.
- Ms. Snidha Mehra, Adv.
- Mr. Ankur Talwar, Adv.
- Mr. Chinmayee Chandra, Adv.
- Mr. Padmesh Mehra, Adv.
- Ms. Jaikriti S. Jadeja, AOR
- Mr. Siddharth Sangal, AOR
- Ms. Nilanjani Tandon, Adv.
- Mr. Chirag Sharma, Adv.
- Mr. Lalit Allawadhi, Adv.
- Mr. Soumya Dutta, AOR
- Mr. Rakesh K. Sharma, AOR
- Mr. Amrish Kumar, AOR
- Dr. Joseph Aristotle S., AOR
- Ms. Nupur Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Shobhit Dwivedi, Adv.

Mr. Sanjeev Kumar Mahara, Adv.

Mr. Siddhesh Kotwal, Adv.

Ms. Ana Upadhyay, Adv.

Ms. Manya Hasija, Adv.

Mr. Akash Singh, Adv.

Mr. Nihar Dharmadhikari, Adv.

Ms. Sampriti Baksi, Adv.

Mr. KN Balgopal, Sr. Adv.

Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR

Ms. Limayinla Jamir, Adv.

Ms. Chubalemla Chang, Adv.

Mr. Mohit Kumar Gupta, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

1

1

The position as it appears before the Court, in view of the statement which has been made by learned counsel appearing on behalf of the Union Public Service Commission¹ and learned senior counsel appearing on behalf of the State of Nagaland, is that on 15 December 2022, the UPSC forwarded a panel consisting of a solitary name to the State of Nagaland for appointment on the post of Director General of Police. Apart from the above name of Shri Rupin Sharma, who has presently been given charge of the post of the Director General of Police, it appears that another candidate Shri A Sunil Achaya fulfills the conditions of eligibility. The name of Shri A Sunil Achaya was not empanelled by the UPSC since he is on central deputation and expressed his unwillingness to go back to his parent cadre. Senior counsel appearing on behalf of the State of Nagaland has submitted that in terms of the applicable Rules, while the consent of the officer is required to be taken for an overseas posting, no consent is necessary for a posting within the country and there is no reason why the name "UPSC"

of the officer was not empanelled by UPSC.

- On 15 November 2022, UPSC addressed a communication to the Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Home Affairs² suggesting that UPSC should be empowered to relax the eligibility criterion of 30 years' service to 25 years for the States of Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Uttarakhand, Tripura and Sikkim where a sufficient number of eligible officers with the requisite qualifying service is not available to form a panel of three officers.
- 3 Learned counsel for the UPSC states that the MHA has agreed to the proposal.
- 4 Mr. Vikramjit Banerjee, Additional Solicitor General is not in a position to clarify the position in the absence of instructions.
- 5 Having regard to the above narration, we issue the following directions:
 - (i) MHA shall file an affidavit before this Court within a week indicating whether the concurrence of the officer is necessary before empanelling the officer for appointment as Director General of Police of the State where the officer is on central deputation;
 - (ii) In the event that the concurrence of the officer is required according to MHA, the specific rule requiring such concurrence shall be adverted to in the affidavit;
 - (iii) MHA shall clarify whether the services of Shri A Sunil Achaya, who is on central deputation, are required due to the exigencies of service on
- 2 "MHA"

7

central deputation or whether he can be empanelled for the post of

Director General of Police, Nagaland in view of the fact that a sufficient

number of eligible officers is not available for being empanelled for the

State of Nagaland; and

(iv) MHA shall place on record its communication by which it had concurred

with the proposal which was submitted by UPSC on 15 November 2022

allowing it to relax the eligibility criterion from 30 years to 25 years, inter

alia, in the State of Nagaland.

6 UPSC shall also file an affidavit within a week setting out the steps which it has

taken in pursuance of the concurrence which, according to its counsel, has been

indicated by MHA in response to the letter dated 15 November 2022.

7 List the Writ Petition and the Contempt Petition on 23 January 2023.

(GULSHAN KUMAR ARORA) AR-CUM-PS (SAROJ KUMARI GAUR) ASSISTANT REGISTRAR